the 40 finalists, Camavinga can believe it!

After establishing a list of 100 players in June, the Italian newspaper Tuttoport revealed this Friday the identity of the 40 finalists for the Golden Boy 2022 trophy.

Who will succeed the Spaniard Pedri on the Golden Boy trophy list, which rewards the best player under 21 playing in Europe? Three French players are still in the race following this new skimming carried out by Tuttosport. Real Madrid midfielder Eduardo Camavinga, is one of the players who can legitimately claim to finish on the podium this year.
Luxury substitute last season, Camavinga has often distinguished himself when he comes into play full of confidence, technical ease and personality and his start to the season with the merengue club is rather promising. His playing time should also increase during this 2022-23 financial year with the departure of Casemiro to Manchester United. In the event of a final victory, the former Rennais could move France to first place in the rankings by nation with four trophies ahead of Spain (3) and England (2). Before him, Paul Pogba (2013), Anthony Martial (2015) and Kylian Mbappé (2017) received this award. The young defender of Olympique Lyonnais Castello Lukeba is still in the running in this Top 40.

Other favourites?

Among the players most frequently cited to succeed Pedri are Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich), Ryan Gravenberch (Bayern Munich), Karim Adeyemi (Borusia Dortmund) or Gavi (FC Barcelona). To a lesser extent, we could cite Yéremi Pino (Villarreal), Nuno Mendes (PSG), Anthony Elanga (Manchester United), Adam Holzek (Bayer Leverkusen), Piero Hincapié (Bayer Leverkusen) or even Fabio Carvalho (Liverpool).

Several great players have won this award since its creation in 2003 such as Wayne Rooney (2004), Lionel Messi (2005), Sergio Aguero (2007), Paul Pogba (2013), Raheem Sterling (2014), Kylian Mbappé (2017) and more recently Erling Haaland (2020), who today makes Manchester City happy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.