Morocco will host the WATC in 2027

OOrganized every two years by the International Golf Federation (IGF), this amateur world team championship includes two events, the Espirito Santo Trophy (women) and the Eisenhower Trophy (men), indicates a press release from the Royal Moroccan Federation of golf (FRMG). First organized in 1958, the WATC brings together up to 72 countries who compete over four days of play, the statement said.

During the biennial meeting of the IGF, elections were held to designate the two host countries for the next editions, after which Singapore (2025) and Morocco (Rabat in 2027) were chosen to succeed France ( Paris currently) and in the United Arab Emirates (Dubai in 2023), the statement said.

Antony Scanlon, Executive Director of the IGF, quoted in the statement, said: “The IGF is fortunate to have received exceptional applications for the organization of the amateur world championships. We are convinced that the Royal Moroccan Golf Federation will be an exceptional host for the best amateur players in the world, that our athletes will be warmly welcomed and will have a fantastic experience in Morocco.”

An African first

Morocco will be the first North African nation to receive this prestigious competition which saw the participation of very big names in this sport such as Nick Price (winner of the Hassan II Trophy 1995), Tiger Woods or Jack Nicklaus to name only them, notes the same source.

“Hosting this event will be an opportunity to promote the practice of golf and gauge the level of our elite players through the organization and management of this benchmark competition”it is pointed out.

The Royal Moroccan Golf Federation will host the two events on the courses of the Royal Golf Dar Es Salam which has already hosted international events, including the Hassan II Golf Trophy and the Lalla Meryem Cup.

The FRMG’s candidacy has benefited from the support of the Ministry of National Education, Preschool and Sports, as well as the Moroccan National Olympic Committee.

Note that at the same time, the 2022 edition is ongoing and the national women’s team has signed a 38e place in the Espirito Santo Trophy won by Sweden. On the men’s side, 71 nations will take part in the 32e edition of the Einsenhower Trophy during which Denmark will defend its title.

“Our representatives Mohamed Nizar Bourehim, recent winner of the Grand Prix des Aisses (in France), El Mehdi Fakori and Hugo Mazen Trommetter, respectively champion and vice-champion of Morocco Elite 2021, will be keen to carry the colors of the national flag high during of this prestigious tournament”the statement concludes.

(with map)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.